Twelve Twelve

An ode to black turtlenecks.

I love me a black turtleneck.  I’m actually wearing one right now.  They are just so versatile and simple.  Steve Jobs was really onto something.  This article by Rachel Syme sums it all up much more eloquently than I ever could.

I bought my first black turtleneck years ago at one of those big lot type stores that I can’t remember the name of (think TJ Maxx, Burlington Coat Factory, etc).  It was a stretchy, soft, thin sweater that I loved.  Unfortunately, something must have happened to it because I do not still own it today.  I do however, currently have a JC Penny’s special that I got a few years back.  It’s some cotton blend and is comfortable, but is a wee bit too short for my 5’10” frame.  I am seriously considering adding to my collection with something of better quality, responsibly made, and significantly longer in length.

Here are my current favorites:

11d81112_cfcd

Everlane’s The Cashmere Turtleneck ($135).  I love this and $135 for a cashmere turtleneck…  Swoon!

b9401d8c_8e86

Another Everlane choice, The Pima Stretch Turtleneck ($30).  A great price point.  It kills me that the model has the turtleneck tucked in though.  I know it’s a trendy look, it’s just not me.

may-turtle-neck-top-in-black-6c35cc77df97

Here is a basic, organic cotton version from the UK’s People Tree.  The May Turtle Neck Top ($29) looks like another good choice (with another model wearing it tucked in).  They  also had a great sweater version but, it’s only available in dark grey at the moment.

I am definitely going to have to restock the closet with at least one more before the winter really hits.  How about you?  Do you have a clothing piece that you just love?  If so, what is it?

Leave a Reply

